Popular Music

Max Richter: Infra & Voices from Elbphilharmonie, Hamburg


What began in 2008 as a project with the Royal Ballet in London – an answer to the 2005 London terror attacks through music and dance – grew on Max Richter’s vibrant musical horizon into a whole album: “Infra” is a hypnotic sound landscape that revolves around the phenomenon of memory. Somnambulistic stages follow one after the other, diving deeper and deeper into an ocean of electronic and acoustic sounds, string melodies and minimal elements – punctuated by Morse code, radio waves and vibrating bass. “Voices” is a homage to the Universal Declaration of Human Rights. With his hopeful and optimistic work for »negative orchestra«, choir, electronics, soprano, violin and piano, Richter aimed to create a space in which musicians and the audience could engage with the »inspirational principles« of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights. In addition to the music, the composer has recorded hundreds of voices from around the world reading out parts of the Human Rights Declaration in their native tongues – these are the »voices« of the work’s title.

Additional Info

  • No: 8801
  • Conductor: Kevin John Edusei
  • Orchestra: Ensemble Resonanz
  • Artists: Max Richter (piano, live electronics), Birgit Minichmayr (narrator)
  • Production year: 2021
  • Run time: 01:30:00
  • Producers: Heliodor
  • Format: 4K
back to list