Der Messias


Known as a creator of astonishing images, stage director and visual artist Robert Wilson delivers a magnificent production of Mozart’s adaption of Handel’s Messias. Mozart was commissioned by Gottfried van Swieten to modernise the score fifty years after Handel’s popular composition (1742), mainly by arranging the wind parts and partially re-composing them. With Marc Minkowski a conductor has been engaged who understands perfectly how to combine baroque style with the tonal possibilities of an orchestra of the classical period like the Musiciens du Louvre. The excellent soloist quartet with Elena Tsallagova, Wiebke Lehmkuhl, Richard Croft and José Coca Loza merges perfectly into Wilson’s enormous flood of images. “A complete artwork”, praises Opernglas; “stunningly beautiful” (BR Klassik); “A stellar moment for the music” (orf.at); “Timelessly beautiful” Süddeutsche Zeitung

Additional Info

  • No: 803504
  • Composer: G.F. Handel / W.A. Mozart
  • Conductor: Marc Minkowski
  • Orchestra: Les Musiciens du Louvre
  • Artists: Elena Tsallagova, Wiebke Lehmkuhl, Richard Croft, José Coca Loza, Alexis Fousekis, Philharmonia Chor Wien
  • Production year: 2020-08
  • Run time: 02:15:00
  • Director: Staged by Robert Wilson

Disc Infos

  • Subtitles: G, E, F, Ko, Jp
  • Booklet: E, G, F
  • No. of Discs: 1
  • Run time: 135 mins
  • Disc Format: BD 50
  • Picture: NTSC HD
  • Audio: PCM Stereo
  • Region Code: 0 (worldwide)
  • Price Code: CME 25
  • Item No.: 803504
  • UPC No.: 814337017576
  • Release Date: 2020-08
back to list