Additional Info

Please log in to access the additional info.
If you don't have an account yet you can register for free.

Available on DVD

Subtitles:E, G, F, Sp, Kor, Chin
Booklet:E, G, F
No. of Discs:3
Run time:261 minutes
Disc Format:DVD
Picture: NTSC, 16:9
Audio: PCM Stereo, PCM 5.1
Bonus Material:The Making of Schumann at Pier2
Subtitles Bonus:English (Original Language)
Region Code:0 (worldwide)
Price Code:CME32
Item No.:711908
UPC No.:814337011192
Release Date:November 2012

Buy the DVD

Concert/Documentary Print available on DVD

Robert Schumann The Symphonies + Schumann at Pier2 Documentary

Robert Schumann The Symphonies + Schumann at Pier2 Documentary
No.: 711908
Composer: Robert Schumann
Conductor: Paavo Järvi
Orchestra: The Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie
Year: 2012-11
Run time: 04:21:00
Director: Christian Berger


Symphony No. 1, Spring, Op. 38
Symphony No. 2, Op. 61
Symphony No. 3 Rhenish, Op. 97
Symphony No. 4, Op. 120
Schumann at Pier2 A film by Christian Berger with Paavo Järvi and The Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie

Schumann at Pier2 is not a usual concert film, it shows the 4 Symphonies of Schumann from a new perspective. Stars of the film are the conductor Paavo Järvi and the Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen and it´s filmed at „Pier2“, a former dockyard in the harbour of Bremen. Where usually pop and rock concerts take place, the orchestra and the conductor work on Schumann´s 4 Symphonies and present it to a young audience. Beside the 4 Symphonies, a 98-minutes music film with Paavo Järvi, Schumann at Pier 2, is part of the 3 DVD-set. This documentary explains the whole idea behind the project and it contains footage from rehearsals, comments from Paavo Järvi about the symphonies and the interpretation, biographical information about R. Schumann and footage of musicians who explain and play key themes.
“Järvis Schumann is most notably extremly exciting, performed with a lot of enthusiasm.“ Fono Forum
„Since their great Beethoven-Cycle Paavo Järvi and the „Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie“ are one of the top ensembles.“ Crescendo